Photographe

Michaël Zumstein

Photographe français, représenté par VU’, Michaël Zumstein est basé à Paris.

Cette année, de la Gambie à la Libye en passant par le Niger, Michaël Zumstein a accompagné Claire Meynial, lauréate du prix Prix Albert Londres 2016 pour une série de reportages sur la route des migrants subsahariens.
En 2014 il reçoit de nombreux prix pour son reportage “De terreur et de larmes” sur le conflit Centrafricain (Picture Of the Year, LensCulture Award, Swiss Press Photo Award). L’ensemble de son travail, produit par le journal Le Monde, est exposé l’année suivante à Perpignan au festival de photojournalisme Visa pour l’Image.

Tout en effectuant des commandes pour les magazines français et internationaux (Le Monde, New York Times Magazine, l’Express, Elle, etc), Michaël Zumstein développe des travaux personnels, mettant l’accent sur l’humain et cherchant à voir au-delà des clichés.

Diplômé de l’Ecole Supérieure de Photographie de Vevey (Suisse), Michaël Zumstein consacre une partie de ses activités à l’enseignement. Sélectionné et formé par le département Education du prestigieux World Press Photo, il enseigne et anime en Afrique différents ateliers sur le photojournalisme.

En savoir plus…

Photographer

Michaël Zumstein

French photographer, represented by VU’, Michaël Zumstein is based in Paris.

From Gambia to Niger and Libya, Michaël Zumstein has worked with French journalist Claire Meynial, winner of the 2016 Prix Albert Londres on a series of reportages about the subsaharian migration road.
In 2014, he was several times awarded for his series “Terrors and tears” about the Central African conflict ( Picture Of the Year, LensCulture Award, Swiss Press Photo Award). This work, produced by French newspaper Le Monde, has been exhibited in Perpignan, during the 2015 Visa pour l’Image festival.

Whether working on commission for the French or International press (Le Monde, New York Times Magazine, l’Express, Elle, etc) or on his personal projects, Michael Zumstein’s photographic work follows an heritage of photojournalism and objective observation, which allows him to catch realities with honesty and to go beyond stereotypes.

In parallel to his work, Michaël hosts photography workshops in Africa, for World Press Photo. In 2011, he is selected among 10 leading figures in the world of photography to participate in the Training of the Trainers (ToT) program. This workshop, organized by World Press Photo, allowed him to perfect his teaching technique.

Read more…